New Orleans JCC Hosts Annual Meeting and Awards

Published Thursday, January 30, 2020

Supporters of the New Orleans JCC gathered Thursday, January 23 for the 2020 Annual Meeting to celebrate the milestones of the past year, recognize emerging leaders, and outline priorities for the coming year. This year’s meeting had an extra celebratory theme with a birthday cake to celebrate the New Orleans JCC’s 165th anniversary.

Incoming Board President Aimee K. Bain opened the meeting, followed by an invocation by Rabbi Josh Pernick. Ex-Officio Peter E. Sperling announced John Denson and Molly Puda as first-term board members and Gabe Feldman and Brad Rosenblat as second-term board members. 

Following the election of the new board members, 2019 Board President Lee Sucherman presented the recipients of the John N. Weinstock Memorial Leadership Award and the Maurice Feingerts Memorial Leadership Award. 

“The John Weinstock Award is presented annually to a first-term board member who has shown outstanding leadership ability,” Lee said. “This year, we are fortunate to recognize two first-term board members with this honor.”

The first award was presented to Lisa Lupin, who was critical in helping secure funds to install state-of-the-art X-grass turf last spring in the Nursery School play yard, Marks Park. Lisa also served as co-chair of the JCC’s sold out Center Celebration. 

Executive Director Leslie Fischman said, “ Lisa’s special touch and attention to detail made this year’s Center Celebration especially beautiful.” 

Lee said, “Lisa’s wheels are always turning, and she is always looking for ways to make great things even better. She volunteers without being asked. She is always dependable. And most importantly, Lisa is committed to making the JCC better for future generations.”

The second award was presented to Gabe Feldman who in the past year assumed several leadership roles at the JCC focused on early childhood program excellence. He serves on the Children’s Committee, SHEVA Leadership Team, and Security Task Force. He is also chair of the JCC’s Reimagining Committee, a group that was formed to evaluate the JCC’s physical space and create plans to address the trends and future needs of our growing youth programs. 

Lee said, “You wouldn’t know that Gabe has nearly 43,000 followers on Twitter, or that he is regularly asked to be an expert source for The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today. That is because Gabe is extremely conscientious and his priorities lie in recognizing and elevating others.”

The Maurice Feingerts Award for Leadership was established by friends and family in memory of Maurice Feingerts, a past leader of the JCC.  This year’s recipient was board member Scott Barron.

“Son of previous Executive Director Arlene Barron, Scott grew up hearing stories about the JCC at the dinner table, which allows him to bring a unique perspective to the board,” said Lee.

Scott has served on the New Orleans JCC Board of Directors for the past eight years. During his term, Scott has served on many committees including Nominating, Budget, Planning and Evaluation, Capital Campaign and most recently Chairman of the Membership Committee. 

As this year’s recipient, Scott will attend the JCC Association JSummit (formerly known as the JCCA Biennial) in early May.  There, he will join young leaders from across the country in the Esther Leah Ritz national leadership program.

In addition to the awards, attendees celebrated major milestones and accomplishments in 2019. For a recap of the past year, click to play the video below. 


Contribute to the JCC's Kindness Wall

Help us celebrate Random Acts of Kindness Day by contributing to our Kindness Wall with an uplifting picture or message. Plus, download printable kindness-themed coloring sheets!


LimmudFest New Orleans Reconvenes March 20-22

The last time LimmudFest assembled in New Orleans in 2018, nearly 400 people participated in the weekend festival of Big Tent Jewish learning, arts, culture and spirituality. 


Nursery School Celebrates Tu B’shvat

To celebrate Tu B’shvat, the “birthday” of trees, each nursery school classroom created a tree using loose parts.


New Orleans JCC Hosts Annual Meeting and Awards

Read about the 2020 Annual Meeting and recipients of the John N. Weinstock Memorial Leadership Award and the Maurice Feingerts Memorial Leadership Award.


More News

Today's Upcoming Classes